ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Without the invaluable helps of the following individuals and organizations, this research could not have been possible to success and complete.

First of all, I wish to express my sincerest gratitude and deep appreciation to my thesis advisor Assoc. Prof. Dr. Duangdao Aht-Ong and thesis co-adviors. Asst. Prof. Dr. Viboon Sricharoenchaikul and Dr. Duangduen Atong for their invaluable guidance, understanding, and constant encouragement throughout the course of this research. Their positive attitude significantly contributed to in my inspiration and my enthusiasm in this research area.

I would like to express my sincere gratitude to Asst. Prof. Dr. Sirithan Jiemsirilers, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Pranut Potiyaraj, Asst. Prof. Dr. Pichaya Rachdawong, and Dr. Pavadee Aungkavattana for their kind advice and for being on thesis committee.

I am also grateful for the scholarship supported by the Center of Excellence on Petrochemical and Materials Technology, Chulalongkorn University. In addition, I would like to acknowledge the research granted from The 90th Anniversary of Chulalongkorn University. Fund (Ratchadaphiseksomphot Endowment Fund) and Office of the National Research Council of Thailand for the financial support of this research.

I wish to thank all the staff members at the Department of Materials Science, Faculty of Science and Department of Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, Chulalongkorn University for their kind assistance and cooperation.

Finally, my deepest appreciation is dedicated to my beloved family whose endless support and understanding is the greatest role in my success.